Understanding Photography

photo-1-retouch

For my portrait photo I have chosen to recreate a few of Billie Joe Armstrong’s photos. For this photo I used a canon 1200D with an 18-55mm lens. The photoshoot took place outside of Lidl in Kirkintilloch against a white wall. I recreated a total of 4 images, this one being my favourite. It was shot with an ISO of 800, 33mm, with an f/4.5 and a shutter speed of 1/200. I shot the photos in RAW to keep the quality of the image. The centre of interest in the photo is the person, there is no wasted space around the subject – it was taken close enough to exclude any extra space. The photo has a shallow depth of field to focus mainly on the subject without any distracting details in the background. It is slightly under exposed but this can later be fixed in photoshop. Natural lighting was used to ensure the colour is as seen in real life as opposed to using a flash that may white out any colour and detail. The colours are very warm in the photo – the red of the scarf being most noticeable. Personally, I am happy with the shot – it is as close to the original as I’d like, I’m most happy with the colours captured in the photo especially the red scarf.

When editing this photo I first adjusted the levels to make the photo brighter as well as adjusting the colour balance to give the skin tones a warmer tone. I then used the healing tool for remove any blemishes. I used the clone tool to tidy up any stray hairs in the subjects stubble/eyebrows. I added a surface blur filter to smooth out the subjects skin, then used the eraser tool to bring back any details in the hair and clothes folding I wanted. I used the dodge and burn tool to go in and darken/highlight any areas I thought needed it – brightened eyes and darkened outlines to the eyes, lips and stubble. Lastly, I added an Unsharp mask filter to sharpen up the image.

Leave a Reply

